Disclosure: This is an affiliate site. We may earn compensation from partners. Full disclosure | Medical disclaimer
By Codeage
$39.99
Capsule
90
August 31, 2026
Codeage Akkermansia 500 Ultra is a dietary supplement. It is not FDA-approved, has not been reviewed for safety or effectiveness before sale, and is not a treatment for any disease. It is not equivalent to and does not replace prescription semaglutide or tirzepatide. No claim on this page should be read as a promise of weight loss.
Codeage Akkermansia 500 Ultra is the most transparently dosed live-Akkermansia product we have found, and by a wide margin the cheapest per month.
Each capsule delivers 500 million AFU of Akkermansia muciniphila strain AH39 paired with 276 mg of chicory inulin. Both the organism count and the strain designation are published — which almost nothing else in this category does.
The pricing is the other headline. $39.99 buys 90 capsules, about a three-month supply, or roughly $13.33 a month. Codeage also sells a lower-strength 100 million AFU version, and it is stocked widely through Target, Vitamin Shoppe, Swanson and iHerb.
Serving size: 1 capsule · 90 servings per container
| Ingredient | Amount | % DV |
|---|---|---|
| Akkermansia muciniphila AH39Live (not pasteurized). The strain designation and active fluorescent unit count are both published — unusual disclosure for this category. | 500 million AFU per capsule | Daily Value not established |
| Chicory root inulinPrebiotic substrate, a higher dose than most competing synbiotic formulations. | 276 mg | Daily Value not established |
Hypromellose (vegetarian capsule), enteric coating components per the retail listing. Check the current label for the full list.
Marketed as a daily synbiotic for gut health, gastrointestinal barrier function and metabolic wellness.
Codeage positions the product as a synbiotic — a live Akkermansia strain paired with chicory inulin as its prebiotic substrate — for gut lining and metabolic support.
Publishing 500 million AFU of a named strain (AH39) is the single most useful thing a probiotic label can do, because it lets you compare the product against research doses. Most competitors in this niche disclose neither.
Human research has found a negative correlation between A. muciniphila abundance and overweight and obesity. Note the important caveat below: the human supplementation trial used the pasteurized form, not live Akkermansia.
A meta-analysis has examined chicory inulin-type fructans and measures including body weight, BMI and body fat. This is a higher inulin dose than most capsule competitors, though still far below the multi-gram doses used in fibre research.
No published clinical trial has tested this finished product. Critically, the widely cited human proof-of-concept trial (Depommier et al., Nature Medicine, 2019) used PASTEURIZED A. muciniphila, and even there the body-weight difference versus placebo was not statistically significant (−2.27 ± 0.92 kg, P = 0.091). Subsequent work has reported the pasteurized form as more potent than the live form for glucose tolerance. That means a live-Akkermansia product like this one is not straightforwardly supported by the trial most often cited for the ingredient.
One capsule daily per the label. Follow the current product label.
Consult a physician before use if pregnant, nursing, immunocompromised, taking immunosuppressive therapy, or managing a medical condition. Live probiotics warrant particular caution in immunocompromised people.
Not publicly listed in the material we reviewed. Check the current label.
Roughly $13.33 per month — the cheapest per-month Akkermansia product we found
Listed as a 15% subscription saving
Lower-strength version, 30ct and 90ct, stocked at Target, Vitamin Shoppe and Swanson
Autoship available at a listed 15% discount ($33.99). Confirm cancellation terms at checkout.
Not publicly confirmed in the material we reviewed. Retail purchases follow the retailer's return policy.
Widely available direct and through Target, Vitamin Shoppe, Swanson, iHerb and Amazon. Check whether your retailer ships live probiotics temperature-controlled.
Pricing reflects what Codeage and named third-party retailers published as of August 31, 2026. Supplement pricing changes frequently — confirm at checkout.
Anyone who wants live Akkermansia with a disclosed dose at the lowest available price. On dose transparency and cost per month it is the strongest value in this niche.
You are severely immunocompromised, on immunosuppressive therapy, pregnant or breastfeeding, or under 18 without clinician guidance. Also consider a pasteurized product instead if you specifically want the form used in the human trial.
Pasteurized MucT — the form actually used in the human proof-of-concept trial
Adds Clostridium butyricum and resistant starch, though it does not disclose CFU counts
Three strains and third-party testing, at roughly five times the monthly cost
$39.99 for 90 capsules — about a three-month supply, or roughly $13.33 a month. Autoship is listed at $33.99, a 15% saving. That makes it substantially cheaper per month than any other Akkermansia product we reviewed.
500 million AFU of Akkermansia muciniphila strain AH39 per capsule, alongside 276 mg of chicory root inulin. Publishing both the count and the strain is unusual — most competitors in this niche disclose neither.
Live. That matters more than it sounds: the human proof-of-concept trial most often cited for Akkermansia used the pasteurized form, and later work reported pasteurized as more potent than live for glucose tolerance. If you specifically want the studied form, a pasteurized product is the closer match.
On dose transparency and cost, yes. It publishes 500 million AFU of a named strain at roughly $13.33 a month, against roughly $49 and $71-$75 a month for products that do not publish their counts. Those competitors do include additional strains, which may matter to you — but you cannot compare their doses because they are not disclosed.
No supplement here is proven to cause weight loss, and this one has no trial of its finished formulation. The most cited human Akkermansia trial found a body-weight difference that was not statistically significant (P = 0.091), and it used pasteurized rather than live bacteria.
Every ingredient, dose, price and policy on this page traces to one of these, checked August 31, 2026.
Speak to a qualified healthcare provider or pharmacist before starting this or any supplement — particularly if you take prescription medication, are pregnant or breastfeeding, are immunocompromised, have a chronic condition, or are already taking a GLP-1. A pharmacist can screen your full medication list for interactions in a few minutes, and that is worth doing before you spend anything.
Explore more expert guides and reviews to help you on your weight loss journey
Ranked on published ingredient amounts, evidence quality and real cost. Paid placement disclosed.
Six products side by side on ingredients, amounts, form and price.
The butyrate and Akkermansia pathway explained, and where the evidence stops.
Fibre and protein have the evidence. Most branded appetite products do not.
Metabolic health is measurable, which makes this a category you can actually test.
Assessed at strain level, where probiotic evidence actually lives.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Dietary supplements are not FDA-approved, are not reviewed for safety or effectiveness before sale, and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Nothing on this page is a substitute for prescription medication, and no supplement described here has been shown to produce weight loss comparable to a prescription GLP-1 medication. Individual results vary. Supplements can interact with prescription medications — talk to a qualified healthcare provider or pharmacist before starting anything, particularly if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, immunocompromised, taking other medication, or already on a GLP-1.
This page contains affiliate links, and we may earn compensation if you use them. Last reviewed: August 30, 2026